I Love Mornings

Memory Lane…. A few years back I have had this one talk about death with a friend.  Yeah! we talk of death as naturally as life, as breathing the air around you, be it pleasant or not… hahaha.  We discovered that both of us were thinking of the same thing, that is, if we only have the power to schedule ours, it would happen at the age of a half-centenarian, the very ripe age of 50. 🙂

Late last year I was in a state of depression and early this year, I had my fourth surgery.  Before that I had been telling myself, “Oh! I am just so tired of another surgery.” So I entered the operating room under a state of the mind that I was just about ready to die.  Wow! this would be perfect timing anyway I’m already approaching 50.  Wish granted!  Perhaps at this point, I am just too excited to be home at last.  Or perhaps I wanted to end the pain, both emotional and physical.  I realized that when you are sick and depressed, you are vulnerable to all kinds of hurts.  Secretly, I have been praying, “God, please take me now.”

But of course, God had other plans for me.  Things did not turn out the way I wanted it to.  He gave me a new life, a new beginning. And I say now, “Today is the best day of the rest of my life.  I won’t ruin it with the worries of yesterday and the fears of tomorrow.” I believe He gave me each morning, each day, each moment not because I needed it but because others need me.  Each morning is a reason to hope, trust and act.  Believe that when all else fails, God is always there.

What I prayed before about God taking me now, I blame it on the hormones.. hahaha 🙂

Now I’m back and I thank you God for every morning that breaks into my life.


Each day is a special gift from God, and while life may not always be fair, you must never allow the pains, hurdles, and handicaps of the moment to poison your attitude and plans for yourself and your future. You can never win when you wear the ugly cloak of self-pity, and the sour sound of whining will certainly frighten away any opportunity for success. Never again. There is a better way. – Og Mandino

Leave a Reply

