The Surrogates

You have been my friend. That in itself is a tremendous thing. I wove my webs for you because I liked you. After all, what’s a life, anyway? We’re born, we live a little while, we die. A spider’s life can’t help being something of a mess, with all this trapping and eating flies. By helping you, perhaps I was trying to lift up my life a trifle. Heaven knows anyone’s life can stand a little of that.

Charlotte in E.B.  White’s, “Charlotte’s Web”

Memory Lane…  We live ages apart for I came from the period of antiquity while you were from the era of digital technology.  Despite this circumstance, our lives were doomed to intertwine.

It started with my desire to be a part of a cause … your cause of promoting environmental education and awareness.  I believed in the cause and joined the organization.  I’d say knowing you, all of you, brought me into a new dimension.  At this point, the ‘I’ had become a ‘we.’ Perhaps you came in when I needed something new in my life.  Perhaps we click.. oh…. please let me believe we clicked for I can see so much of me in your laughter, in your dreams, in your passion.  (That was the me a long, long time ago.  Of course, the laughter, the dreams and the passion are still there but… ahh… the young once can’t keep pace with the young ones. hahaha! 🙂 ) In the short time that we’ve been together, you have touched my life and again please let me believe that I have touched your lives as well.

We faced the challenges of our cause in togetherness. Yes we did it. We shout for joy over our little  triumphs and experience each other’s ounce of happiness and doses of kilig moments.  Oh!… How we laughed at each other’s bloopers.  We ached and pained in each other’s falling out and brokenheartedness. I remember how tears would peep from my eyes when some of you told me you’re always in my prayers.’

Now, soar high with your dreams but pray that you’d be able to forgive, (really forgive,) let go, and let God.  Sons and daughters of the universe; this is a short life and you are not getting any younger 😉

This video is about you, my moments with one of my life’s best blessings.  Thanks for all the good times, I guess we’ll have more.  The bad times?  Well, let’s learn from the lessons of the past.

They say, one cannot choose ones family but he always has the freedom to choose his friends. 🙂  I’m glad I chose you.  Now I’d like to follow that up with this quote:

“Friends are relatives you make for yourself.” – Eustache Deschamps

Simple and true because, somehow you have become a second family.  Now I can truly say I’ll cherish every moment … and wherever I maybe, I’ll remember you.

“Friendship is always a sweet responsibility, never an opportunity.” ~ Kahlil Gibran
Leave a Reply

