Stage 2

Last Saturday, I went to St. Lukes Medical Center… have to see my doctor because of some discomforts in my throat.  I was diagnosed with Stage 2 reflux laryngitis.
Reflux laryngitis is the inflammation of the esophagus (swallowing tube) and often the larynx (voice box) caused by acid refluxing or backing up from the stomach into the esophagus. In many people this refluxing acid reaches all the way up to the voice box and higher– sometimes even into the back of the mouth and nose.

This acid causes irritation of the delicate tissues that cover the inside of the esophagus, larynx, and back of the throat; and inflammation to the vocal chords. This results in various symptoms including;

  • a painful or burning sensation in the chest (“heartburn”)
  • difficult or painful swallowing
  • hoarseness
  • increased mucus in the throat (phlegm)
  • a feeling that something is stuck in the throat (foreign body sensation or globus

And mind you, all these symptoms, I felt plus much more.

  • At times I lose my voice.  My mouth goes through the motion of talking but my beautiful voice is nowhere to be heard.. it’s just like you are watching a movie without an audio.
  • At times, it feels like someone is strangling me from the inside of my throat as if a big hand is in there to take out my voice box.
  • At time I have difficulty breathing that I have to grasp for air.  Times like this, I feel like I’m slowly dying.
  • This one is so censored – I fart so often… nakakahiya to the max….

My doctor’s advice is a change of lifestyle.

  • Bed blocks – elevate the head of your bed 2-6 inches with wood blocks or bricks. Using extra pillows is NOT a good substitute. Use of a foam wedge beneath the upper half of the body is an alternative.
  • Limit coffeeLimit coffee to 2-3 cups per day. Limiting consumption of other caffeine containing beverages (tea, soft drinks) may also be helpful.
  • Avoid foods that cause your symptomsFoods to avoid are: spicy and fatty foods, tomato and citrus juices (such as grapefruit and orange juices), chocolate, mints, coffee, tea, colas, and alcoholic beverages.
  • Avoid tight clothingTight belts, tight pants, or girdles can increase the pressure on the abdomen and stomach.
  • Do not lie down for 2 hours after eatingAllow gravity to work. Also, avoid bending over at the waist to pick up things. Bend at the knees instead.
  • Do not clear your throat or cough excessively – If you need to do this, drink liquids or swallow hard.
  • Take AntacidsAntacids can be taken at bedtime and 30-60 minutes after each meal or as directed by your physician.
  • Stop smokingIf you cannot stop, decreasing the number of cigarettes you smoke may help.
  • Take smaller but frequent meals
  • Lose excess weight if you’re obeseExcess weight increases the amount of pressure constantly placed on your stomach. Even small amounts of weight loss may help.
  • Drink 6-8 glasses of water per day.

Obviously, not much change is required of me coz I’ve been living most of these lifestyle for so long now.

Strange and funny… Coz a friend just tagged me in facebook as someone talkative.

Now I have to talk in moderation, sing in moderation, laugh in moderation, eat in moderation, love in moderation?

Pray I recover my voice ASAP, otherwise we’ll have to resort to sign language for the meantime.

Paging Rye D…. I need you to teach me the sign language.

Leave a Reply

