Project 365 (2)… Chivalry Still Happens!

The age of chivalry is gone.  That of sophisters, economists and calculators has succeeded…. Sir Edmund Burke

In this second post for my Project 365, I commend the few good men who made chivalry happen in our fast track world.

Last week, I was in a hurry to attend a meeting with our metrological organization.  We are in the process of expanding membership and to find ways and means to generate more funds.  I took  the Manila Metro Rail Transport (MMRT)  from North station going to Buendia.  This transport system is almost always jam-packed to the max.  That day, since I was in a hurry, I didn’t have the time to march my way to the front train allotted for female, seniors, children and disabled.  I just jumped into the rear portion of the train which had been crowded mostly with men and wherein all seats were taken.  But alas! One gentleman, someone two to three decades younger than I am, stood up and offered his seat with a smile on his face.

HURRAY!  THANK YOU!  CHIVALRY LIVES!!!

Two days later, t’was a one sunny noon, my sisters  and I, (all in the golden years of our lives), have to go to the Supermarket to buy some stuff when all of a sudden our car stopped apparently for no reason at all (T’was my younger sister driving).  And what a shame, we were in the middle of a busy street.  We were concerned then because if we could not bring it to start, our car would be towed away and we don’t want additional unnecessary expenses at this point in time.  We opened the car hood to see what’s wrong (as if we know how to check and can do something about the situation  😛)   It was a funny scene: Me, holding an umbrella to shield us from the sun’s heat (Well, we don’t want to invite heat stroke at this point), and my sister tapping the battery and seemingly looking for something wrong.

All of sudden, we heard a man’s voice from behind asking, “What’s the problem? Can I help?

Wow!  Is he some kind of a angel or a knight in a shining armour in the modern times?  I looked around to see where he came from and saw his car, perhaps a replica of ours.  He parked it right at the back of our car and he peeped into our hood, asked some more questions and concluded, “… if your battery is still new, then perhaps, it’s the alternator.  Now, the first thing to do is to get this car out of this busy street before men from the towing company arrive. We need to jumpstart this car.

Imagine this: a golden lady with one hand pushing the rear of the car and another hand holding an umbrella coz it’s sunny hot at about 12:00 noon.  Then another man pushing the car too, with all his might and strength while giving instruction to my sister on how to jumpstart the car.. whew!

Since my sister can’t seem to get his instructions, he called other men on the street to help me push the car from the rear while he jumpstarts the car and off we go.

Yehey! the car engine started to run again.  Thanks to the new heroes of our modern world: this man who was heaven sent and the men on the street, the passers-by and the sidewalk/street vendors.

At this point, we were not able to get his name and thank him lengthily for we can see from our rear mirror that towing services is now approaching  We have to go, quickly. 😀  He left us though with instructions to bring the car immediately to a repair service.

Again, I’ll say, Chivalry Lives!  Thank you so much!

The age of chivalry is never past, so long as there is a wrong left unredressed on earth, or a man or woman left to say, I will redress that wrong, or spend my life in the attempt… Charles Kingsley

Leave a Reply

