What If?


Dear Claire,

“WHAT” and “IF” are two very non threatening words, but when you put them together they could haunt you for the rest of your life.

What if?  What if?  What if?

I don’t know how your story ended, but if what you felt then was true love then it’s never too late.  If it was true then why wouldn’t it be true now?

You need only courage to follow your heart.  I don’t know what a love like Juliet’s  feel like,  a love to leave a loved one for, a love to cross the oceans for,  but I’d like to believe if I ever were to feel it, I would have the courage to seize it.

And Claire, if you didn’t, I hope one day that you will.

All my love,

Juliet

This is Sophie response as Juliet’s secretary, urging Claire, the letter sender, to follow her heart.. An excerpt from the movie, LETTERS TO JULIET.

A very simple movie yet it managed to win me over.  I did relate to Sophie’s character for I believed in following one’s dream to the fullest even if others do not.  It is your dream anyway.  The movie just proved that true love can survive even after half a century of silence.

I was moved during the scene where Claire quietly and lovingly brushes Sophie’s hair for it depicts that friendship between two women in search of a common goal can occur despite the disparity in age.

True enough, if you will it, then you can have it. One’s life shouldn’t be haunted with What Ifs.


							
Leave a Reply

